Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Writing lyrics

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by clanner, Sep 30, 2005.

1. clanner

clanner Token Black Guy.

Apr 27, 2005
    ummmmm, marietta GA
    how exactly would I go about this, Our singer writes a ton of them and we both have poetry background, I'm trying to put words to some of the stuff I've got, but so far no go. not really sure what to call the style other than alternatve because It's not typical.

mainly either pop/punk (falloutboy), Nirvana, Chili peppers, Motley Crue, or Guns and roses (sweet CHild o mone type riffs, except it's bass)

edit, both the singer and I have tenor voices and can't go ultra low, I can sing anywhere between upper baritone and most of the saprano range

2. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    California
    I'm by no means an expert on lyric writing, but even experienced writers get nervous when they stare at a blank page.

I happenned to catch an interesting program segment on the guy who writes the lyrics for Spearhead, and he was saying that he finds inspiration to write by looking around himself, taking in the realities of the world and then talking about it. He also added that he likes, if possible, to get all five senses involved. I thought it was very encouraging when i heard him say that he's intimidated by the writing process sometimes. If a pro like him, whose livelihood depends on that skill can get nervous and do it anyway, so can we.