Writing music...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by massivemonster, Oct 3, 2005.

1. massivemonster

Oct 3, 2005
    Hello, I have been playing drums for about 27 years, I am actively playing still, Most of the bands I have been in I have wrote all the lyrics and relied on the guitar player to get the sound I was looking for.. I recently decided that I wanted to get the sound in my head out. Via guitar... well after purchasing a nice Dean flat top I found my hands were to big and my fingers far to fat to play proper chords... I know I should try piano... but I have always loved to bottom line... even as a drummer I always hear and remember the bass line in every song I hear... I played Tuba all through high school and collage as well... my question is "Can I eventually write music on the bass?" is it versatile enough for me to explore? I love to sound... I don't think I would have any problem with my fingers on the neck.
  2. Mudfuzz

Apr 3, 2004
    For me, yes; I almost always write on bass. I have occasionally wrote parts on guitar but I always end up using bass to glue the parts together.
    Although, a lot of people will tell you a chord based instrument like guitar and keys helps or is necessary to right, and that's cool too.

As for big hands, you have my sympathies, I have big hands [although my fingers are rather thin] and I find most guitars uncomfortable to play.
    A good option is a baritone guitar; a longer scale and lower tuning make it a nice compromise between a bass guitar and a guitar.

Good luck.
  3. massivemonster

Oct 3, 2005
    Thanks.. does a baritone guitar have more spacing between the strings? thats my only problem is no matter how hard I try.. no matter what angle.. I kill the strings around my fingers when playing chords.. all I need is just a tiny more bit of room...
  4. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004