Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

writing music

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Ben Jammin', Jul 14, 2003.

1. Ben Jammin'

Ben Jammin' Guest

Jul 13, 2003
    Falmouth, Cornwall, UK
    I was just wondering whether most bands (of any sort) write their music as a joint effort, or if one person from the band does the lot. I'm a bassist, and the least experienced player in the band, but I write all our songs, lyrics included.

2. cthesick

cthesick

Sep 12, 2002
    lawton OK
    ive noticed lately talking with alot of bands and reading cd covers that you usually have 2-3 key people in the band that write all of the music... of course this isnt always true ... or a majority .. but it does surprise me that alot of bands have dummy heads in which there job is to play the music writen for them... i myself have no problem with somebody coming up with a cool bass line as long as its a member in my own band... its a band effort and i think everymember should have their input...

3. Ben Jammin'

Ben Jammin' Guest

Jul 13, 2003
    Falmouth, Cornwall, UK
    Yea, I agree to some extent, but sometimes one person will come up with a cool tune all by themselves. Normally the rest of the band change their parts quite a bit anyway, so the finished product is a joint effort

4. wulf

wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    I suspect the issue of songwriting credits has been the death of many a band. The group will get a small amount of money for each album sold... but the author(s) will get a further cut for each song they have on the album. So, you write a song and you get money when it is used.

Now imagine that your album is a short run of 500, sold at your gigs but a copy gets picked up by someone connected with a famous band. Negotiations ensue and your track goes on the big group's album and gets released as a single and spends several weeks at #1.