Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

writing rhythm charts

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Howard K, Sep 27, 2005.

1. Howard K

Howard K

Feb 14, 2002
    UK
    I've landed me a gig in a pure disco function band off the back of a dep I did for an originals band a few months back. The guy who's put the band together has sent round a list of tracks and asked us to contribute rhythm charts, we just split the tracks between us basically. I'm fairly new to this, but I want to make sure I do the best job I can.

So, what constitutes an acceptable or passable rhythm chart, and what makes an excellent rhythm chart?

I'm thinking the neccessary basics are, the changes, the form and any specific rhythms that need to be picked up by the rhythm section?

But, what about voicings? I'm not exactly sure I'll be able to get down all the chords precisely, with all correct extenstions and stuff, let alone voicings! Would this be expected of me, at this level? Everyone in the band is going to work from a CD anyway, so I'm guessing we're just putting together charts as reminders for the gigs, but I'm not exactly sure?

What about unison parts, you know, those Stevie Wonder style pentatonic riffs you get all over the place in these kind of tunes? Should I notate those as well, or should I assume that everyone will learn the tunes beforehand?

Any advice very welcome! :)

2. wulf

wulf

Apr 11, 2002
    Oxford, UK
    Could you ask for some examples of what they've done previously? You're not being asked to write a transcription, so I'd imagine a general outline to jog the memory is probably sufficient.

Of course, if you want a laugh, you could always write it out in tab... ;)

Wulf

3. Howard K

Howard K

Feb 14, 2002
    UK
    It's a totally new band, so no charts exist at all yet