1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Wrote some original music, then learned music theory, now going back to the music...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by recreate.me, Oct 23, 2010.

1. recreate.me

recreate.me

Apr 2, 2010
    Ontario
    Well, I just started playing bass a couple years ago, and relied on tabs to learn as well as help from a friend who played guitar. It got to the point where i could play most tabs from modern bands i liked with no problems.

We started a band, i played bass and he wrote the songs since hes been playing guitar for years. After about 7 songs i am starting to learn standard notation and theory (just on my own online and with books) and i am trying to write out our songs, well im having some troubles.

I have written out our first song, it consists of the notes:
    B,G#/Ab,G,A,E
    And is preformed in DADG

When transcribing this is it just in the key of C Major, and just happens to have those G#/Ab's in there?

And is it common for a song to change time signatures from 4/4 to 3/4 ?
    Writing this out i think the chorus is 3/4 and the verse is 4/4 i never thought about it since it was just something we learned and nailed but when writing it it seems to come out that way...

2. Playing from tabs limit you to the number of songs you have stored in memory. A little theory opens this up so you can assume some things and play hundreds of songs. Of course IMO.
    I guess you could say that. I would need a little more than 5 notes to reach that decision. What chords are you playing those notes over - that enters into the picture.
    It's your song you can do that if you like, IMO that is not done a lot. Now changing keys for the chorus is, but, changing timing ... it's your song, if you like it ... it's your song. Dancers will give you the fish eye if you change the timing on them.