Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds. Anyone used it?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Josh Curry, Sep 16, 2005.

  1. Josh Curry

    Josh Curry

    May 29, 2003
    Frisco, TX
    I was thinking of taking some online courses to expand my knowledge of theory, chords, scales, etc...

    I came across these guys and tried their 'free' (it costs 1 cent) bass trial. It was OK, nothing amazing.

    I was wondering if anyone here has ever taken any of the actual courses and what your thought was on it. Was it good? Was it a waste of money?

    I'm really keen on the fact that it's online because that means I can work through stuff while I'm at work when I have some free time, during lunch, and breaks, of course ;)
  2. Josh Curry

    Josh Curry

    May 29, 2003
    Frisco, TX
    Well, since nobody seems to know anything I went ahead and signed up for a few courses.

    Guess what?

    It's soooo baaaaad. The courses are terrible. Bad spelling and grammer. Quizzing you on things they've never even discussed.

    There's this one testing tool that shows you notes on a staff and you have to click on a virtual fretbord where you would play it. Well, since it used an 'adaptive' testing scheme (the better you do, the harder the question) it starts to give you notes that are so many ledger lines above the staff that's it's actually physically impossible to play on their 4-string fretboard, for example, an A# that would have to be on the 27th fret of the G string. And this is a 'beginning' bass level 1 test. Some notes we're so high that it couldn't even display then properly. God forbid it shows notes on the actual staff. What a joke.

    That's just one example of many that I saw that proved to me that their so called 'courses' are just plain bad. There's obviously no quality checking after the developer finishes with a new course and there's no freakin' way that someone who actually knows bass ever even looked at them.

    STAY AWAY!!!!

    Luckily, they have a 10-day money back guarantee. I wrote them a 'nice' e-mail expressing my dissapointment and they said they would refund my money. I'll let you guys know if that works out.
  3. Icelandscot


    Nov 2, 2013
    Hi did you ever hear back from I bought a mic from them 2 years ago and paid 210 british pounds. It was never sent to me and I have tried several ways to contact them, but no replies. I am thinking to try and get a lawyer to go after them, but how? There is not physical address on their site. I am mega pissed over this. Any advice would be helpful.

    LoVe Pauline
  4. redviper2100


    Nov 6, 2013
    Well, 2 years is a lot of time... anyway...


    Here are a few details about the company:

    Company name:
    Owner: Andre Oosterkamp
    Paypal email address:
    Chamber of commerce: 08086825
    VAT ID: NL129655661B01
    Address: Usselerveenweg 96
    7546PJ Enschede, Nederlands
    Phone number: +31332011144 (of so called "call center")
    Youtube channel:
    Google+ :
    Tweeter: (they haven't tweeeted anything for almost 2 yrs)

    Well, is just a website among a dozen of other domain names that are actually the same site, working on the same server.
    You can check them by yourself:


    and many others.

    Other links about the company from the chamber of commerce:

    Here is the registrar data of the domain name

    Usselerveenweg 96
    Enschede, 7546PJ

    Email Masking

    Domain Name: CRMAV.COM

    Administrative & Technical Contact:
    Andre Oosterkamp
    Rigtersbleek-Zandvoort 10-0.38
    Enschede, 7534GN

    Many users complained they never received the items.

    Hope you'll find this usefull.