1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

WWYD? (Ibanez EDC700)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Brian VT, Apr 21, 2017.

1. Brian VT

Brian VT

Mar 8, 2017
    I'm a newb and bought this bass and it has "issues".
    The volume+on-off pot is toast, many of the frets are worn down, and the body has an epoxy? patch on the back. I don't see any new necks available online and I'm not sure it would be worth the cost for one or to have new frets installed on the original.
    I also have an SR370 that is in great condition. Should I strip parts off the EDC700 to "upgrade" the SR370?
    Or should I just write off the EDC700 as a lesson learned and hang it up as a reminder?
    What would you do?

2. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Supporting Member

which parts from the "issues" bass are you considering as upgrades for the instrument "in great condition?"

3. Brian VT

Brian VT

Mar 8, 2017
    I dunno.
    Are the SFR pickups much better than the EFX? Same rout hole?
    I think the tuners and bridge might fit but may not be any better?

4. crucislancer

crucislancer Supporting Member

Dec 25, 2009
    Coeur d'Alene, ID
    Tough to say for sure. It would really depend on how much I spent on it and willing to spend on it in the future. Replacing a pot isn’t too big of a deal, something on the back doesn’t bother me, though I am curious about this epoxy patch. IIRC, the neck on the EDC700 is similar to, maybe even exactly like, the SR series. I had both an EDC700 and an SR800 for years, and the necks seemed to be comparable. Ibanez discontinued the EDC700 quite a few years ago, so direct replacements will be difficult to come by unless you scored another EDC bass. A refret would be a better option, and possibly cheaper. I would love to see a pic of some of the issues.

5. Brian VT

Brian VT

Mar 8, 2017