Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

XavierG vs. Recording Industry

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by XavierG, Dec 11, 2002.

1. I've just discovered that everytime we Canadians (maybe you yanks too) buy recordable media, be it a CD-R, Memory Card, or what have you, we pay a surcharge that goes directly to the recording industry. The "tax" is meant to compensate the recording industry for rampant illegal mp3 downloads and illegal copying and distribution of albums (how many of you actually believe this revenue goes to the recording artist?). Now, as far as I'm concerned, if I've been paying a surcharge for the past however many years for all the SmartCard's and CD-R's I've purchased for "legitimate" use, then I should feel free to download mp3's and make cd copies as I please. I've paid for them! The sad part is, as a musician, I know this line of thinking can only harm recording artists. Even more scary, that 'surcharge' is about to increase, and also cover items like mp3 players, cd writers, and more. What do you guys think about this?

2. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    I'd say it's a good way to deal with it, as long as they let us download and copy anything we want.

3. bassmonkeee

bassmonkeee Supporting Member

Sep 13, 2000
    Decatur, GA
    Yeah, but they won't. I don't like "they" very much.

4. Nick man

Nick man

Apr 7, 2002
    Tampa Bay
    Good point.

If theyre gonna charge us then they shouldnt ban it.

I understand that the recording industry is losing alot of money this way, but to tell you the truth, Ive felt that the recording industry has been making alot of other mistakes that make me mad and not want to do more to support it.

Quick easy examples.

Rolling Stones tickets (obviously good)= $300!