1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Yamaha BB

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by steve135, Mar 19, 2009.

1. steve135

steve135

Mar 19, 2009
    Hey guys I'm new to this board and I'm also new to playing Bass. I've been a guitarist for 11 years and recently took up bass for a new/different challenge. I've borrowed a friends Ibanez SRX-500 which is doing the job just fine right now.

I'm thinking. If I keep this up, I'd like to have my own bass.

I've been looking at the Yamaha BB414, the reviews of this bass on Harmony Central seems to be great, not a bad review to be seen. But I would like more opinions on this bass or maybe even some recommendations for something cheap but reliable and solid.

2. i'm playing a bb414 and i like it a lot.

it's a P/J hybrid, with 3 position selector switch, selecting P only, P+J, and J only pickups.

I like it a lot because of 2 things:

(1) the sounds that I can get from it. it has a nice deep P sound with the P-only setting and a nice mid-range bright punchy sound if you select the J pickup only. I've never used the P+J setting.

(2) the neck depth. I'm not talking about the width but rather, the front-to-back. It's very shallow from the face of the fretboard to the back of the neck, i've tried other basses that felt thick from the front to back and never liked it - feels like grabbing a round baseball bat, but the bb414 is really shallow and i like it this way.

is there anything specific that you would want to know about it?

3. Thump Jr.

Thump Jr.

Jun 8, 2008
    SW FL