Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Yamaha BB164

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jkrobs, Feb 2, 2006.

1. jkrobs

jkrobs

Feb 2, 2006
    Hi there, Im new to this forum..but I just rencently went to my music shop and part exchanged my Roland Keyboard for a Bass guitar...I wanted a Warwick streamer stage 2..but offcours it was tooooo expensive. So instead I got a Yamaha BB164...It looks really nice, But Im very new to Bass guitars..actully I can't even play one. But I just wanted to get one. But Now I feel like I have rushed out and made a mistake. Firstly It;s on order and It;s gonna be 2 weeks before I get it. It cost me £294, it was £369..but with my keyboard in exchange was bit less. It's only 4 string..do you think that's right for me? Will I still be able to make some good music with that? Also Ive been hearing that 24 frets is a must..but I just found out this ones only for 21???? what does that mean? and does that mean, It;s not good? Please help me..also if anyone could look that guitar up for me and tell me what you think..that will be great. I hope I made the right choice.

2. lefty007

lefty007

Jan 19, 2004
    Miami, FL
    Where to start. . . (clunk!) (face hits computer keyboard).

3. IotaNet

IotaNet Supporting Member

I'm assuming you are talking about the Yamaha BB614 (not 164 ;) )

If so, there is a lot of information on TalkBass about it. You can start with this link and go from there: http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?t=226880

To your questions ...

* It's only 4 string..do you think that's right for me?
    For someone just starting out, a 4-string bass will be more than fine for you. Many bass players (even some who have been playing for decades) never play more than 4 string basses.

* Also Ive been hearing that 24 frets is a must
    Not so. For someone starting out, 21 frets will be just fine.