Yamaha BB300

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Cristo, Oct 20, 2005.

1. Anyone with one of these old guys replaced the tuning machines? If so, what did you use as a replacement?
  2. Jascal

Oct 18, 2005
    I am a noob to all this, so don't confuse me with an expert. This is what I chose to do, nothing more.

I recently replaced everything on a BB300, including the tuning keys. There were 2 different types of machines on the bass, one was a clover type, and the other 3 appear to be original. The original looking keys were pitted with small rust spots and I decided to replace them all.

After searching around the internet, I chose Hipshot HB-2 machines. When I removed the existing keys, I found 20 holes, none of which could be used with the new tuners, so I filled the holes in before I did anything else. Almost every hole would be covered by the new tuners, but I wanted to fill and seal the holes to minimize humidity and other contamination, including wee tiny spiders who might like to make the holes their home. *chuckle*

I used some bass wood (left over from RC airplane kits, toothpicks would probably do just fine) and made small pegs which I hammered in each hole. Once seated, I shaved them flush with a sharp XActo and sealed them with a tiny dot of water based polyurethane. I dont know what the existing finish is, and all I wanted to do was seal the wood, so I covered the fill wood and no more.

When I removed the bushings, I found the new bushings were entirely too loose, and would not work as-is. I read some of the repair sites and the solutions I found were based on adding some kind of material to the holes. Using cyanoacrlate seemed most common, but my experience with CA is that it suffers from being brittle over time. I decided on a novel solution, I used a ring of aluminum tape wrapped around the new bushings. This gave sufficient clearance corection and the new bushings were tapped snugly into place.