1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Yamaha BBP34 vs Fender Precision Bass!!!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BassMage, Oct 26, 2018.

1. BassMage

BassMage

Oct 25, 2018
    Hello guys,

I'm a newbie here and I need to listen what you guys have to say about this two basses. I just have money to one of them And this choice is very difficult to me.

2. I would buy the BB234 (as opposed to the BBP34 you listed) and save the $1200. I prefer Yamaha's to Fender for everything except impressing traditionalists who want to see a Fender. I have the BB415 and prefer it to Fenders except when I need to have a certain look. I have a real Fender for when I need to do that.

Last edited: Oct 26, 2018
    Lionel Albert likes this.
  3. mrb327

mrb327

Mar 6, 2013
    Colorado
    Nobody Knows
    Not all fenders cost $1200 or more...

@BassMage
    If you can, you should try both. They each may feel or sound different to you

Everything else you are going to get here is just an opinion, one that is not your's

4. $1200 less than the model Yamaha he picked :)

BB234 vs. BBP34, subtle difference but it jumps from $300 to $1500. I'll make that more obvious in the other post.

5. SpazzTheBassist

SpazzTheBassist

Jun 20, 2006
    What kind of music do you like to play?
    Slap, fingers, tap, pick, all of the above?
    Who are some of your influences and bass tones you want to emulate?
    Do you like using different tones or are you a set-it-and-forget-it player?
    Have you played each and, if you have, which one "speaks to you"/feels good in your hands?

The Yamaha is a P/J pickup configuration and (unless otherwise stated) the Fender is a single P and knowing the answers to the above will aid everyone with suggestions

mrb327 likes this.
  6. mrb327

mrb327

Mar 6, 2013
    Colorado
    Nobody Knows
    my last Fender cost $474, not $1500

7. BassMage