Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Yamaha G50

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by lwleaver, Sep 27, 2002.

1. lwleaver

lwleaver Something cute and clever.

Apr 10, 2002
    Philadelphia, PA
    I want to be able to get sounds like steel drums, horns, etc. from my bass. I have been looking at the Yamaha G50 and was told that I can achieve these sounds with the unit and a B1D pickup. First, is this true? Or do I need some external unit other than these to get the sounds? Also, I believe I read you can interchange midi pickups? Is this true. I know the MIDI is based on the 13 pin cable. I am very very new to this and want to make sure I have my facts straight before I spend the cash. Any help would be great.

2. FretNoMore

FretNoMore * Cooking with GAS *

Jan 25, 2002
    The frozen north
    The G50 is only an analog-to-MIDI converter, you will also need a sound generator. This could be any synth, sample player or sampler that you can control with MIDI messages. When I got the G50 it was bundled with Yamaha's MU100R sound generator, but any synth will do.

The pickup is interchangeable with others that use the same 13 pin standard, I have used the pickup that comes with the Roland V-Bass unit and that works fine.

3. lwleaver

lwleaver Something cute and clever.

Apr 10, 2002
    Philadelphia, PA
    So, I need an external sound generator to get the sounds I want? Damn, I am really showing my lack of knowledge on this one.

4. FretNoMore

FretNoMore * Cooking with GAS *

Jan 25, 2002
    The frozen north