Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Yamaha parts?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by d_rock211, May 16, 2002.

1. d_rock211

d_rock211 Guest

Apr 29, 2002
    Kansas City
    I'm new to playing the bass. I just got my first bass (w00t!!) the other day....a Yamaha BBN4. I like it so far, but I have two questions about it:

1) As I move up the neck (about 5th fret on Dstring and 10 or so on A and E) the bass starts going ever so slightly sharp and only gets worse the further I move up. Is this a problem w/the bridge, truss rod, strings or what? What should it cost to get this thing properly setup?

2) I am a tinkerer...bigtime. I am interested in learning more about this bass, and possibly upgrading pieces here and there as I go along. Is this bass worth keeping and upgrading? (I got it for $180 brand spanking new on ebay after playing one in Guitar Center) And if it is, where should I start looking for hints and tips...besides here :D

Would appreciate general comments, or comments about my bass

2. bizzaro

bizzaro

Aug 21, 2000
    Vermont
    Sounds like you need to set the intonation. Got to run to work. I will be back!!

3. Hello D Rock.

The problem you describe is an intonation error although, to be honest, it sounds quite severe. How do you know it's getting slightly sharp? Not being funny, but have you checked it with a chromatic tuner? [If you don't have one, buy one: they're really cheap. IMHO they're an absolutely vital tool for the bassist. I've a Korg. It's brill :D]

Try the Yamaha web site. They supply manuals for their instruments in PDF format so you can get all the info there.

Unless the truss rod is dreadfully mal-adjusted / broken, that's not the problem. Neither is it the strings.