Yamaha RBX 370a

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by damo2576, Aug 11, 2004.

1. damo2576

Aug 9, 2004

Done a search and doesnt seem to be much info on the Yamaha RBX 370a.

Thinking about buying one and would like to hear from any one with any experience of one....

I'm a total beginner - been learning on a borrowed encore...

What I'm after is something thats going to be easy to play and learn on and not hold me back in anyway. Or give me the chance to make excuses like the encore does :scowl:

Thanks in advance,

2. utopia_imminent

Jun 19, 2004
    go to www.rondomusic.com. they have good basses with quality built and feel comparable with the big brands. anyway, i feel the rbx370 is crap. ppl buy it because it has the brand name and it is active. i would rather recommend yamaha bb404 , bb604 to anyone.
  3. damo2576

Aug 9, 2004
    ...what about the RBX 374? Thats got humbuckers
  4. Blademaster Dez

Blademaster Dez

May 12, 2004
    There are many companies that make solid basses for people starting out. A lot of folks dig Ibanez's SRX and GSR lines. ESP's beginner basses are said to be high quality as well. I believe ESP's F104 even has a 35" scale for those broke metalheads who want the extra scale length to downtune. Even boutique marques like Spector and G&L have budget lines with their Performer and Tribute series respectively.

If I were you, I'd go to a music store and try out a bunch of basses, new and used. Also try out some beyond your price range so you have a feel of what a more expensive (more likely higher quality) axe feels like. If a cheaper axe reminds you of the more expensive one, you struck gold.

However, if a more expensive axe than you can afford is what really creams your twinkie, wait and save up. It's better to have a bass you really love and lust for than one you only sorta like. You'll be more motivated to play a bass you love/lust than one you only sorta like.