1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

yamaha rbx374 question

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by pusangtaba2011, Jan 2, 2012.

1. pusangtaba2011

pusangtaba2011

Jun 29, 2011
    hi, i have an rbx374 bass and i want to do some upgrades on it..
    i want to put a bypass switch on it (active/passive)
    just want to check if anyone here have already done that and can give any suggestions..
    i want to do this because i like the sound of a passive bass and also my rbx drains out my batteries in just 2-3weeks..
    i already emailed yamaha about this but i cant get any help from them..
    if anyone has a diagram of the electronics of rbx374 i would appreciate it if you can send it to this email jtabligan@gmail.com

i dont know if im on the right place to start this thread, im a newbie..
    :'D

2. pusangtaba2011

pusangtaba2011

Jun 29, 2011
    anyone?

3. Stealth

Stealth

Feb 5, 2008
    Zagreb, Croatia
    If your RBX drains out your batteries in three weeks, there are three possibilities:

• You keep a cable plugged into the bass when you're not playing it - a big no-no with active basses because they use the output jack as a switch, activating the preamp only when you plug it in.
    • You have an improperly wired stereo jack - the ground wire (usually soldered to the pot casing of any of the pots) goes to the sleeve contact of the jack, the negative battery lead should be soldered to the ring contact and the output is probably already on the tip because the bass works when you plug it in.
    • You do not have a stereo jack at all, so the negative battery lead and ground are tied together - but that's rare if not impossible with Yamaha.

I don't think I've seen the RBX37x-series wiring anywhere online.

4. pusangtaba2011

pusangtaba2011

Jun 29, 2011