Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Yamaha TRB1006 thoughts

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jzucker, Mar 21, 2005.

1. jzucker

jzucker

Feb 3, 2005
    Cleveland, OH
    Ok, I've read some of the previous threads about this bass...

Let me give you some background. I'm a jazz/fusion guitarist having played and taught jazz guitar for over 25 years. I've been playing bass seriously for a few months using on a Korean Lakland bass. This bass sounds great but I'm finding myself wishing i had some more strings. I'm considering a 6 string bass so that I can do more chordal and solo things.

My primary usage for the bass will be in laying down parts for original tunes but I would also like to use it for some jazz/fusion duo/trio things and I'm thinking that the extra strings will give me more to work with in terms of chordal voicings and solo stuff.

One thing i would want is fairly low action and good intonation all the way up the neck, allowing me to do solo lines in the upper register with good tone, etc...

There's a banged up TRB6 at a local store that they're asking about $800 for so I'm wondering if I'd be better off getting that or a new TRB1006. Unfortunately, nobody carries the 1006 in this area so I'd probably buy from musicians friend and return it if it's a dud.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

2. quatre03

quatre03

Aug 20, 2004
    well from what i've seen the Yamaha 1006 isnt any more than $900. But then again I've found a John Patitucci Sig for $900. I know there is one on e-bay right now.

3. Suckbird

Suckbird Banned

May 4, 2004
    Sweden
    BUMP. Wanna know myself.

4. jzucker

jzucker

Feb 3, 2005
    Cleveland, OH
    Where can I find a JP for $900?

5. artistanbul

artistanbul Nihavend Longa Vita Brevis

Apr 15, 2003
    Turkey-Istanbul