yba-200 + avatar 2 12

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by denton57, Nov 7, 2005.

1. denton57

denton57 Supporting Member

Nov 1, 2005
    Im a brand new member, and since discovering this site about four days ago, I cant stop reading. So much great information! I've been playing for about 15 years on and off and thought that all there was in the world for bass was Ampeg! (I had the oportunity to play through a vintage SVT at an outdoor gig once in '98, and it changed my life, tone-wise) Anyway, all I've ever owned is SS and have never been happy with my tone- ever. Since reading this site, I've decided to buy the Traynor tube head. Seems like the perfect answer for my tone issues. Now trying to decide on a cab... Hearing great stuff about the Avatar cabs, and cant believe they're so cheap! I have read here that some cabs don't sound as good as others with this head. A 2 12 is what im pretty set on getting. Is Avatar a good match? I play classic rock and classic country with a loose group of fellas who like to get rowdy, but play pretty quietly volume wise...as strange as that sounds (just one guitarist playin thru a blackface vibroverb, a smooth drummer who's not trying to show off his power, and a great fiddle player) I'm itching to pull the trigger and enter the world of tubes, so I need a cab quick! Thanks.... I blew the speaker on my BA115 with my Sans BDDI, so right now I have nothing...I never liked the sound of it anyway.....
  2. protoz

Nov 30, 2000
    That should be a nice combo. Get the Avatar in 8Ohm in case you want to expand later on. I've never been a 12s guy as I like the rumble of my 15s but I miss some highs that 10s offer.

The Traynor isn't going to be squeaky clean which might be what you are looking for (coming from running all SS) Tubes are a whole new beast that I think sounds much better.

Welcome to TB by the way!
  3. denton57

Nov 1, 2005