Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

yes im a newbie but i have tried

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by banjodave, Feb 17, 2006.

1. banjodave

banjodave

Feb 17, 2006
    ok - i have spent al lot of time going through the newby stuff but havent found the answer to my questions - although have found lots of answers to questions i hadnt thought of yet so thats cool...

basically i am a short fella - only about 5'5 - i see 3/4 is basically standard size bass but how big actually is that and will i be able to reach the top??

the ok - i am warned off chinese basses although they do look pretty to the untrained eye in nice black or white etc but i will take the hint and say no...

i intend learning bass to play in more psychobilly side of things but a little bluegrass stuff too.

i hve found a bass that has a solid carved top and ply sides {i assume this is hybrid} not ply but not carved - would this be suitable for what i am proposing? oh and price is £540 does this sound sensible? what benefits does hybrid have if any over ply?

"DB1950 Stentor Student Double Bass

Stentor Student Double Bass
    The Stentor Student Double Bass is designed as a low price model to suit limited budgets. The front is hand carved from solid spruce, back and sides made from laminated maple. Complete with cover and bow.

Sizes: 4/4, 3/4, 1/2, 1/4"
    [​IMG]

thanks a million

2. KSB - Ken Smith

KSB - Ken Smith Banned Commercial User

Mar 1, 2002
    Perkasie, PA USA
    Owner: Ken Smith Basses, Ltd.