Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

YES!!! New G&L, #6 or #8 neck?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ApeIsHigh81, Aug 25, 2004.

1. ApeIsHigh81

ApeIsHigh81

Aug 24, 2004
    CA
    Well I sold my beloved jazz on ebay. It was everything I thought I ever wanted since I started playing. I'm poor right now and can't afford to keep one high priced bass and buy another so I had to do it. The G&L L-2000 has been calling me all this past year and I had to give in, it was a sooner-or-later thing. I plan on either black or honey tint with birdseye, I wish I could get the flamed maple top but I think it's out of my league for now. Anyway my question is which size neck most resembles my Jazz neck the 12" or 7 1/2" radius? Thanks in advance, this is such an awesome forum. I'll post pics real soon by the way :hyper: :bassist: :hyper: :) :bassist:

2. CaptainWally

CaptainWally Supporting Member

Oct 21, 2000
    Sandy Eggo, CA
    7 1/2" = Jazz; 12" = P bass

If you decide you could deal with a 12", check out the "new" G&L L-2000 I have in the ad forum with a Honeyburst Quilt top.

3. ?....Jazz and P basses both have the same radius, usually 9.5" for American Standard series, or 7.25" for American Vintage series. So it all depends on what you're used to.

I'm also craving one of these beauties with a jazz neck, I've played Vintage Jazz Basses all my life so I will go with a #6 neck. :D

4. ApeIsHigh81

ApeIsHigh81

Aug 24, 2004
    CA
    Thanks, yeah I remember now the Miller Jazz has a 1.50 nut and 7.25 radius. What do you guys say, black or honey (not honeyburst)?

5. CaptainWally

Oct 21, 2000
    Sandy Eggo, CA
    I like honey--- black is cool, but shows finger prints like crazy.

6. ApeIsHigh81

ApeIsHigh81

Aug 24, 2004
    CA