Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Yet another build thread, questions and ideas inside.

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Zetora, Jul 18, 2005.

1. Zetora

Zetora

Aug 16, 2004
    England
    Yes another build thread, yet this is the forum topic as sorts.

Never built an instrument before, yet as my dad is a joiner/builder/woodworker by trade I have enough equipment and basic woodwork experience on hand.

I am considering wood types so far, this is to but a 6 string bass guitar, bolt-on, 34" scale. One thing I would like a little advice on is wood types, now before you stop reading here I'm not asking for best wood type or wood type to obtain [insert tone description here], its a practical would it likely be strong enough or would you strongly recomend against it strongly.

Also I have done my research on these borads so please no flaming.

I am considering a 7 peice bolt-on neck, 1/2"Walnut-1/4"Plain Maple-1/2"Walnut-1"Flamed Maple-1/2"Walnut-1/4"Plain Maple-1/2"Walnut, centred two way truss rod with two metal supports (unsure as to what I can get my hands on as of yet, carbon fibre maybe but unsure). This with a Flamed Maple fingerboard, 5 or 7 bolts to body depending on fret number, tempted on 26-30 frets. Walnut body with a Burl Maple top, angled headstock.

Anyone see anything which may be a problem within that?

Also the string spacing likely to be about 16.5mm, if I can get my hands on a 2 peice warwick bridge, but can't seem to get my hands on it so far over here in England (if anyone can help me on that, that would be much appreciated)

Would that be a strong enough neck for the 6 string?

Thanks for reading, and thanks for the help :)

Zetora

2. justateenpoet

justateenpoet Have you...killed the Venture brothers!?!?

May 14, 2005
    Connecticut