Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Yet another drummer timing problem, need advice thread

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by mikeboth, Sep 27, 2005.

1. mikeboth

mikeboth The last thing you'll ever see

Jun 14, 2002
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Operator: prophecysound systems
    I've been playing in an originals band for 16 months now, and we've recently started gigging. As you might expect, when playing live in front of people each musicians' weaknesses (and strengths) are highlighted. The main problem is - yes, just like so many other bands - the drummer's time is all over the place, sometimes changing every few bars or so (along with all the common places - slowing down in fills, speeding up when starting a chorus etc etc). I feel my time is pretty good (I've played bass for 15 years, and both classical and jazz/funk/blues keys for more than 15 years), and have played with at least a couple of drummers in the past where everything just 'sits' naturally as regards timing. What I find is that I have to adjust my timing almost constantly playing with this drummer, and it really makes me feel quite tense. Sometimes the drummer plays quite well (in terms of timing), but more often than not he doesn't. When we jam together at rehearsals (before the singer/guitarist and guitarist/keys go turns up) his timing is generally pretty good .... so it's a bit of a mystery. We really can't afford to look for another drummer, as *any* drummer is hard to find around my parts. Are there any exercises I can work with him that will improve the situation? He's only been playing a couple of years, however I feel that's enough time to solidify a sense of timing and be able to apply it to one's instrument. Maybe I just need to learn to 'go with it', but it is pretty hard to constantly re-adjust my internal 'metronome' and the whole process is messing with *my* sense of timin