1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

yet another guitarist transitioning thread

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bluestone, Apr 1, 2013.

1. bluestone

bluestone

Apr 1, 2013
    hey all i'm new to talkbass and also bass guitar for that matter, long story short i'm a 21 year old guitarist thinking about changing to bass because there is an abundance of guitarists and not enough bassists and drummers which makes it hard getting in a band (not the best reason to make the switch i know). anyway i was wondering how long roughly it would take me to get good enough on bass to get in a band. also i know about music theory and the tones that make up chords and have a fairly decent groove and rhythm on guitar (i'm not one of these mindless plank wan]<ing guitarists).
    thanks for the help :)

2. Mushroo

Mushroo Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2007
    Massachusetts, USA
    How good are you at booking gigs? If you are a good bandleader who can provide your "hired guns" with a steady income, then you can start playing out tomorrow.

If you want to play bass in someone else's band, then ask that person what they want/need in a bass player (I'm not being flip; the answer might be anything from "cool hair style" or "have a car and be willing to pick up the drummer" or "know every Rush song" or "have a great attitude and show up on time willing to learn").

Generally speaking, if you can turn on the radio to a station in the style you want to play, and play along with the songs, then you are good enough to play in a band in that style.

I joined a band on my first day playing bass (actually we all went out and bought instruments together). I have never for even an instant of my music career been "not good enough to play in a band."

3. Seba_H5001

Seba_H5001

Jul 15, 2012