Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Yet another plea for help w/ choosing a bass!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by spaz, Aug 21, 2001.

1. spaz

spaz

May 24, 2001
    Hampton, VA - USA
    I’m getting ready to make the jump to a 5 string and would like some input. I’ve done a lot of research through posts on TB, but I figured I would throw out the basses that I like for any additional input you might have. I’ve been playing for almost 10 years and have been playing a Peavey for most of them. I play mainly rock/modern rock stuff, some slap and a little jazz. I really want a good all around bass since it’ll probably be another 10 years before I buy another!I’d like to spend around $600-$700, but would probably be willing to go as high as $1200. I’m willing to go used, but haven’t seen much variety in the used department and I don’t want to buy used gear online unless I’ve played it before.

I liked:
    MM Stingray – I finally got a chance to play one that was setup correctly… Awesome
    Peavey Cirrus – Saw a new one that has been on the rack for a while. I’m not sure what exact model it is, but it was marked at $1200 and I got the impression that they would let it go for under $1000. Sounded like a good deal.
    Dean – made in Czech Rep. It was a neck-thru and I think it was about $600. Don’t know much about them.
    Spector 2000/5
    Warwick FNA

Tried, but not my thing:
    Ibanez
    Fender MIM or MIA
    Peavy Millenium
    G&L 2500 (yeah, I know it’s a great bass!)

The only MTD dealer near me does not have the kingston or the heir, so I haven’t been able to try either. So far, I’m leaning more towards the Stingray or Cirrus. Any input would be great.