Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Yorkville XS-400H vs. Ampeg SVT-350H

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Gamorrah-Bass, Apr 30, 2005.

1. Gamorrah-Bass

Gamorrah-Bass

Apr 5, 2005
    I'm a bassist in an up and coming metal band, and I'm trying to choose between buying a Yorkville XS400H or an Ampeg SVT-350H head. I'm a tube junky. I love tube warmth, tone, and sound. But in my situation, I need solid state reliability. So I'm trying to get a combination of the two. I play a Fender American Deluxe Jazz, and I love it because of its sound, comfort, and versatility. Those are the same qualities I want in my head (excluding comfort). The XS400 has 400 watts (solid state) with a tube pre-amp and a tube overdrive. The SVT-350 has 350 watts of MOSFET technology that supposedly has an extremely tube-like sound.

If anybody has any experiences, advice, or thoughts on these two amps I'd really appreciate it.

2. The 0x

The 0x

Aug 24, 2003
    Timonium, MD
    The SVT-350H doesn't sound like tubes at all. The Yorkville XS400H has a preamp tube, and you can also get overdrive from the tube as well. The SVT-350H is also very underpowered for 350 watts, whereas the Yorkville's rating is very conservative for 400 watts. Best of all, the Yorkville is cheaper, and has a much better warranty. (2 years even if you break it).

3. Turlu

Turlu Supporting Member

Sep 11, 2000
    Ottawa, Ontario CANADA
    Personnally tried both amps.... definitely the Yorkville XS400H. More versatility, great punch and the Tube drive will give you that warmth you need.

4. tekhna

tekhna

Nov 7, 2004
  5. I like yorkville amps, the one i tried was nice anyway, but am now the proud owner of an ampeg svt-II :D, cant beat it

However, you may want to look into a sansamp BDDI, or the fulltone (i think), equivilant, both are great tube emulators/overdrives