Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Yorkville XS400H or Hartke 3500

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Bigwig, Jun 8, 2004.

1. Bigwig

Bigwig

Dec 27, 2003
    Grimcity
  2. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather

Yorkville. :eyebrow:

3. yorkville, no competition.

4. Lue

Lue

Sep 30, 2003
    yorkville if I may say so. :D

5. RevGroove

RevGroove Commercial User

Jul 21, 2002
    Burlington ON Canada
    Manager, Account Services: Long & McQuade Ltd. (Burlington); MTD Kingston Basses International Emerging Artist; Bartolini Electronics Emerging Artist
    I'm using the XS400T combo...I have no experience with the Hartke, but the head and the 2x10s sound killer...I have no complaints at all!

6. I've played the Yorkville, and it's quite the bang for the buck.

7. Hey BigWig, I'm a fan of Yorkville 'cause it's dependable, cheap and Canadian. When the XS400H came out, there was a large thread on it:

Yorkville XS400H

There is also a current thread about Hartke. Some posters claimed that Hartke has moved to entry-level status. Note, I've never played through a Hartke so I don't know but here's the thread anyways:

Moving away from Hartke

8. dimplebutt

dimplebutt

Oct 13, 2003
    LA
    i have the Yorkville 400h it's a great little head, and even better for the price. IMO if you like the Hartke then yeah Hartke is cool but with the Yorkville you get a lot more options on tonal control and the thing i really like about it is that this amp really brings out the tone of the bass, The amp doesn't add coloration to the sound. Power wise, well yes it does have more power but the cabs that you get play a big deal of difference. I will be using 2x12 avatar and a 1x15 carvin, and when i get more money i'll probably get a 4x10 and switch between any combination of 2.
    Oh by the way check out the reviews on both of these products you'll find really good info.