Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Yosemite...HELP!!!!

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by hateater, May 18, 2003.

1. hateater

hateater snatch canadian cream

May 4, 2001
    Eugene, OR
    I am faced with a tough decision (considering that I have little to none knowledge about these two things).

I am planning a trip to Yosemite with my two friends, and I need to decide between Crane Flat campground and Hodgdon (sp?) Meadows.

Does anyone here have any experience at all with either of these two campsites? Please include as much information about it as you can. Thanks!

2. Mike Money

Mike Money Banned

Mar 18, 2003
    Bakersfield California
    Avatar Speakers Endorsing Hooligan
    Ever notice that the word yosemite is like a gangsta guy talking to a jew?

"YO, SEMITE!"

Ya, sorry about that lame joke.

But those camp sites are all good. I've been going there to a summer camp my church has inside the park at Wawona for years, so I sorta know my crap about that place.

Either place will be a good experience.

3. nanook

nanook

Feb 9, 2000
    Alaska
    one of them is bear infested, I forget which.

4. hateater

May 4, 2001
    Eugene, OR
    Last time I went to Yosemite, I satyed at Wawoma (it was beautiful BTW). You could not have any open food outside of a "bear safe" box at night time- or else you would get into trouble.

I am pretty sure that the reservation site said something about their being "bear safe" containers at Crane Flats as well- the bear problem at Yosemite is probably larger than just one campsite.

5. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    I've been to yosemite twice, stayed at lower pines both times. It was nice, I mean, I'm not a big fan of huge campsites with RVs and stuff. Backpacking is more my thing(I never thought I'd say that...wow..I've changed)