You all depress me a lot...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by The_Ryst, Feb 22, 2005.

1. I've been playing bass for three years and I still have my all crappy Ibanez Soundgear Gio :( It's mostly due to my budget.

Recently I've taken my bass playing to a whole new level, before I was just in the school band and stuff. In probably....I'd say mid December I decided I wasn't going to be some lame flea clone who just slapped all the time. (I did this after going to the Guitar Center and I heard Higher Ground like...10 times:oops:)

I have like...a 200 dollar bass. Come on people. some of you have 4,000 dollar basses. I'm looking to get a new 6 string (I have a 4 now) and I'll probably get the Spector Q6. Is that any good?

I'm 14 and I have no budget:( Do any of you remember the days when you were broke? :bag:
  2. xcental34x

Feb 28, 2003
    Memphrica, TN
    You're 14 and have a bass. What is there to complain about. I didn't get my first bass until I was 16, and I had to save up for it. It was a Squier II P-bass. At such a young age, there should not be any hurry to get some fancy flamey, quilty top boutique bass.
  3. I was 19 before I got my first bass!

Nothing wrong with a Spector Q6 if you really want to get a 6 so quickly! I played for 15 years before I bought a 6......a $300 Washburn XB600 - had it the past 5 months......nah it ain't for it's getting sold!

Had 5 Spectors though - still got 2 both 5 they are worth having! :)

Good luck on your quest for a new bass! :)
  4. nonsqtr

nonsqtr The emperor has no clothes!

Aug 29, 2003
    Burbank CA USA
    Ditto. Consider yourself fortunate. :D

A Q6 is a nice step up. Make sure you get a good one though, production instruments tend to vary from one to the next. Try before you buy. :)
  5. I do realize how fortunate I am compaired to how late some people start playing. I started when I was 11.