1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

You and your amp......on stage

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by USAJO, Jul 26, 2007.

1. USAJO

USAJO

Apr 13, 2005
    I don't go out to hear bands often. I've been playing weekends for so many years when I'm not playing I enjoy the time away from clubs and crowds. This may be why I have a limited perspective. When we gig we use significant PA systems. The gear on stage is for the "band" to hear. When the drummer is using his acoustic drums we are louder on stage and when he uses the electronic set we are can lower the stage volume. I always see this as a positive and I'm happy that we can hear the vocal monitors and can clearly hear the dynamics of each song and player on stage. I use a 400 watt head into two 8 ohm single 12 cabs and yes there are nights where I'm pushing it pretty hard so we aren't ultra quiet.
    Is my band in the minority here on TB ? Do most of you take the same approach or do the majority of you crank it up on stage, battle 100 watt Marshalls and let it ROCK?

2. NOLA Bass

NOLA Bass Mr. Worst Case Scenario Man Gold Supporting Member

Feb 3, 2005
    New Orleans LA
    Yep, I battle two Marshall 100 watt half stacks, but we are a metal tribute band after all. Our guitarists are required by all that is metal to play through those!!! ;)

3. 4Mal

4Mal Supporting Member

Jun 2, 2002
    Columbia River Gorge
    No that's about right for me. 400 watts and a 2x10 or 2x12. Outside I bring more power and two cabs. I'm in the process of migrating to 1 cab a bit larger (Schroeder 410) and I'll be bringint the Pre/Pwr setup but that's as I'm migrating away from a small rig / large rig setup infavor of 1 rig.

4. Jazzman

Jazzman

Nov 26, 2002
    Raleigh, NC