young bassist - my first amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by youngbassplayer, Jan 2, 2003.

1. Hello everyone. I'm a very new bass player, I've been playing for about 5 months now, and I've finally gathered up enough cash for an amp for myself. Now, I've been browsing around, and reading up and I am strongly considering an Ampeg BA115 Bass Amp Series Combo. The amp is $450, so it's a step above a practice amp, which is what I'm looking for, and I've been told that Ampeg is pretty decent.
    The specs are:

* 100 watts of power
    * 15" speaker
    * Style selector with 5 basic tone options
    * 3-band tone controls
    * Master and gain controls
    * Balanced XLR line out
    * Headphone jack
    * RCA inputs for connecting a tape or CD player
    * Tilt-back cabinet

I was wondering if anyone had an opinion on this amp. I've played on this amp before at a local music store and I liked the sound, but then, I am new and I know that I ought to talk to people who know more before I put my money down...
    I would like to hear any pros/cons you have concerning Ampeg products also...

Thanks for your time all!
  2. Nick man

Nick man

Apr 7, 2002
    Tampa Bay
    Hmmm..... that sounds pretty good, but for practicing with a band Id suggest something closer to 200 Watts. If you arent going into band stuff, then that should be great.

I personally dont like tone of this amp (or Ampeg in general), but its just a personal taste thing. Ampeg is a well known and loved company, just not my sound. You said you like how it sounds so thats what matters.

What type of music do you play, and with how many people playing through what?

3. rayzak

Jan 13, 2001
    Louisville, KY
    In my opinion, that's a great little combo amp. I have an Ampeg B-100R and absolutely love it. 100 LOUD watts. I'd definetly check it out too, it's only about $30 more than the BA115. Let us know what you decide.

AMJBASS Supporting Member

Jan 8, 2002
    Ontario, Canada