1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Young Gospel Bassist- Arrogance or Confidence?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Bobbo 77', Mar 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hola,
    Question to the Gospel Bassist. I read Fountainboys post 2-24-06 "What is it that makes "Gospel Bassist" master of Groove"
    Quote- "All I can recommend (as you already know),is to be aware that if they walk in a music store & you are playing something without conviction or surety,those guy's have an uncanny ability to sniff you out, plug up near you, & run through so much material that all you can do is bow out gracefully & concede defeat"

Now, I'm a Bassist thats been trying to do my thang for 28 yrs, and yes, I rememeber what it was like to be a "Young Bass Player", cocky, but I was mentored by older musicians that did'nt play games, and you could be put in your place quickly. Now, it seems from some of those post that it's part of the Gospel Bass playin' community for One Ups manship, or are'nt these young cat's listening to the sermons, and the importannce of being "Humble in all things". I'd expect that kind of attitude on the B.ball courts, but in church?? What about the Church Musical directors, elders, not keeping some of these youngbloods in check? Especially for are Christian walk, Jesus ask us to "Humble ourselves" " The proud attitude heads the seven things God hates Prov.6:16-17.

I'd like for you' all to chime in on this. I'm not a prude, but is this just the way it is in the Gospel community?

Bobbo 77'

2. *sets up tent and watches for replies*

Wassup Bobbo 77! Yep, it's at times dog eat dog out there in these music stores.