Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Your first bass teacher.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by H2ODog, Nov 13, 2003.

1. H2ODog

H2ODog

Sep 30, 2003
    Roseville, CA
    I just bought my first bass and amp and am now ready to look for a teacher. Since I’m new to the instrument I’m not experienced enough to know if the potential teacher is qualified to teach. How do you determine if a teacher is actually knowledgeable enough to teach? What questions should I ask to get an idea of his skill level. I have been looking around and have found some advertisements but it’s hard to determine if it would be the right one. Is price an indicator of the quality of teacher? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

2. If your just starting out look for an instructor who is an instructor. Not some dude who 'plays bass'. Price is an indicator that you are being ripped off. I'd try to find an instructor that you personally like because if you don't like the instructor you will likely quit playing bass.

3. Jason Carota

Jason Carota Gold Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2002
    Lowell, MA
    Ask people who shop at your local music store who their instructor is/was, and what their opinion is of them.

4. Joe Turski

Joe Turski

Jul 29, 2003
    Connecticut
    m
    If your paying for an instructor (And you will) Interview him/her before you start. Be comfortable with that person. Ask many questions, about their backround. Don't be afraid to tell them what you want to learn from them. If they can't teach you what you feel you need to learn, move on until you find that right teacher!!

Shop around, then decide. :)

5. H2ODog

H2ODog

Sep 30, 2003
    Roseville, CA
    I made a few calls and i have seen rates from $25 to $60 per/hour. What is a decent rate for an hour long session.

6. Joe Turski

Joe Turski

Jul 29, 2003
    Connecticut
    m