Your first impression of an unlined fretless.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by FireBug, Feb 9, 2006.

1. FireBug

Sep 18, 2005
    I remember my pre-talkbass days when I was ignorant about many things. One of them was the concept of an unlined fretless (I didn't even know you could get one lined). I thought that to play one you had to be extremely good and whenever I heard of someone who played a fretless, they were immediately elevated above everyone else.

What was your first impression of a fretless bass...lined or unlined? What did you think of people you knew who played them?

I've reserved a Corvette Standard fretless and I feel it may possibly the biggest creativity move since I started playing. I became interested in them when I picked one up and discovered I could play it fairly well. Envisioning the frets always helps, but with side markers, all you really need to use is your ear.

For those of you who play a fretless unlined, do you ever see people scratching their heads and staring? Anyway, just share your first impression.

On a side note, my guitarist is going to kill me. He already hates my Streamer for it's lack of face markers and knows of my impending unlined fretless purchase. "Envision the frets," I tell him.
  2. froovs

Mar 17, 2005
    i practiced hard on my self-defretted bass for about six months

it was of course lined

then i made the jump to a blank plank...

my very first impression was "phew its not a disaster, i can play this reasonably well"

i knew right from then id made the right decision, and with enough work that the move to fulltime fretless would be the right thing for me

everyones different tho

preferring one type over the other doesnt make you any more or less of a player

3. Mudfuzz

Apr 3, 2004