1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Your got to have tool for tweaking your live sound

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by tshapiro, Apr 22, 2018.

1. tshapiro

tshapiro Supporting Member

Aug 25, 2015
    Jax Florida
    I’ve been a professional musician for more than 30 years. As a pro, I’ve played Keyboards, Guitar, Bass and Drums. While it took years to perfect the sound of each rig live, bass is by far the one that takes the most knowledge and skill to get a great sound with live. I say this because of my own experience and the fact that I hear so many good bass players who have a blah sound live. I attribute this to the fact that bass eq is complex compounded by the fact it is highly affected by the natural ambience of the room. While there are endless aspects to making up the bass sound, the one I’ve come to rely on most is my compressor - that’s the one I couldn’t live without. What’s your gotta have tool for tweaking your live sound? Doesn’t have to be a pedal. Could be settings or anything that works for you.

2. You hit it right on the head. Compressor. I like to start off with a frowning graphic EQ setting, a fairly hard knee on the comp, and just enough overdrive to give the notes warmth. I don't crank the volume on the bass, rather start with it low and blend the pickups until they sound balanced and smooth. By not cranking the volume on the bass, the attack isn't as strong and consequently doesn't react as harshly to the compression. That is the key to avoiding the mushy sound. Even the Ric has a smooth attack with the volumes low and the amp doing the heavy lifting. I use a solid state head and a tube preamp. That combination yields a wide variety of tones.

tshapiro likes this.
  3. EQ and pickup blend for me, but I’m not a pedal guy.

4. salcott