Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Your habit?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by stringtheorist, Jul 22, 2005.

1. stringtheorist

stringtheorist

Jul 14, 2005
    Just wondering how everyone here finances their gear habit?

I haven't bought much in the way of bass gear, but I've spent an a** load of money on studio gear over the past few years. For 5 years I worked as an outside sales rep for Gateway out of the Dayton store, but when they closed their stores I was forced to find new employment. Now I work as an IT Manager for a Leather and Licenced Sports Apparal distributer.

2. 6 month interest free at Long and McQuade in the summer!

3. I'm just good at spending moneys... :bassist:

I work construction, sometimes on site, more often than not in the factory- it pays ok, but by no means great, and it's not an ideal job for me... I like to be more... Mmmm!

Anyways over the last few months I have been spending my pay cheques on...

Fender American Jazz Bass $1800AUD
    Eminence Delta 12LFA $230AUD (imported)
    Gallien Krueger 800RB $850AUD (Second hand) (imported)
    Ampeg SVT410He $1000 (Second hand, needs a new speaker)
    Essex P/J Bass $200AUD (eBay)

I'm looking at selling the Ampeg cab, and getting an Eden 212XLT the Ampeg just isnt for me... That's it for a while, I need to start saving moneys for moving interstate / buying a house next year :)

4. stringtheorist

stringtheorist

Jul 14, 2005
    Good idea! Here's some of my gear I've had. I've sold most of it as now I've gone almost 100% software based production.

Korg Triton (61 Key) - $2600USD (now sold)
    Yamaha AN1x - $800 (now sold)
    Yamaha RM1x - $760 (now sold)
    E-Mu Orbit V2 - $599 (now sold)
    Roland SP808 - $849 (now sold)
    Mackie 24x8 - $2990
    Lexicon Multi Effects - $299
    TC Multi Effects - $249
    Alesis MultiVerb IV - $199