1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Your Lead Guitarist Hands You $500.00......

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Braciola, Dec 7, 2011.

1. Braciola

Braciola

Dec 7, 2011
    Oviedo, FL
    ....and says, I need a used bass, could you please find me one.
    What are some models off the top of your head that immediately come to mind you would start looking to buy for him?

Hey guys, Dominick from central FL here.
    I'm a lead guitarist and a nine year senior member over at The Gear Page forum.
    I was asked to play bass for a classic rock cover band and need to pick up as used bass for around $500.00.
    I'm very knowledgeable when it comes to electric guitars, but really don't know too much about buying a bass.

I'm just looking for something that sounds great, and is easy to play.

Any suggestions would greatly be appreciated.

2. dedpool1052

dedpool1052

Jan 10, 2011
    Seattle, WA
    a squier CV p-bass or j-bass would be my go to bass. very solid basses for the price.

3. Squier VM Jazz.

You can get it new for $329.00.

I play one in a classic rock band. Very versatile with a fast neck.

Make sure to play it before buying as feel and build quality can vary.

4. Braciola

Braciola

Dec 7, 2011
    Oviedo, FL
    Thanks guys,
    I'd rather buy a higher dollar used guitar for around $500.00.

5. Bass-aholic

Bass-aholic

Dec 28, 2010
    Northern New Jersey
    I own a cat... Owned a cat........... I think it was a cat.
    Ibanez sr 500 would be my choice. Fenders are heavy

6. 64jazz

64jazz

Nov 29, 2011
    Louisville, KY USA
    Snatch a like-new MIM jazz bass off craigslist for $350-400 and pocket the leftover. :cool:

7. darknes40

darknes40

Oct 11, 2011
    Ibanez sr500 for sure it's light fast neck which will feel more like a guitar neck and active eq onboard

8. Used MIM Jazz Bass.