1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

your opinion on the bass the has the best bang for the buck in any price range?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by airrick, Mar 25, 2006.

1. airrick

airrick

Dec 4, 2005
    like the title states

2. WalterBush

WalterBush

Feb 27, 2005
    Yuma, Az
    Full disclosure, I'm a certified Fender technician working in a music store that carries Fender, Yamaha, and Ibanez products among others.
    Ibanez SR505MH. It's the all-mahogany model with Barts and an active 3 band EQ. Feels great, and I could conjure any tone out of it I tried to. The one I was monkeying with was at GC for $649 with case.

If I'd had the dough, I'd have bought it on the spot.

3. i think for 120 dollars, SX makes a good, solid Jazz or Precision bass

4. instigata

instigata

Feb 24, 2006
    New Jersey
    i agree. my regular sr400 (maple body, non-barts) is great itself. i played the mahogany version. 50 times better (and i consider MINE a bang for your buck contender)

so yea. bart pups/tronics, ibanez construction, and that great mahogany body.

its a win win win win win win win to infinity.

it may not LOOK super exotic, or vintage. but it sounds great.

5. Woodchuck

Woodchuck

Apr 21, 2000
    Atlanta (Grant Park!)
    Gallien Krueger for the last 12 years!
    I'd have to go with the Lakland 55-01, with the SX basses second.

6. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    MTD imports and Lakland imports.

7. scottbass

scottbass Bass lines like a big, funky giant

Jul 13, 2004
    Southern MN
    Can't argue too much with an Ibanez GSR200 for $200. Excellent fit & finish, decent p-bass sound and that fine, thin, fast Ibanez neck. There are basses I like better (and own), but the Ibanez wins the quality per dollar calculation. IMO. You can't buy a bass that's twice as good for $400, or a bass that's three times as good for $600, etc.