Your opinions on this rig?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassist31588, Dec 26, 2002.

1. I currently have a 2x12 Hartke combo w/ 120 watts (b-120). I'm thinking of upgrading to a 350 watt head which would be the Hartke 3500, and an Avatar 2x10 with 350 watts EACH speaker.

I'm a bit confused and ran this by with folks on Harmony Central's Bass Forum and they said it was cool. But wouldn't this be underpowering? Dave Avatar's ad on this cab said 350 each equaling 700 RMS. Does it matter?

I've just been stuck with Combos up til now so I'm kinda new to this ****. What type of room would the avatar and hartke head fill?

Suggestions on gear are welcome, but I've pretty much decided on what I can afford and what I need.
  2. Thanks for the helpful response.:rolleyes:
  3. Ryan L.

Ryan L. Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2000
    West Fargo, ND
    Well, here's another helpful response:rolleyes:

4. Phat Ham

Phat Ham

Feb 13, 2000
    The 350 W rating on the avatar speakers is just the maximum continuous rating. Giving them less than the rated 350 watts isn't going to hurt them.
  5. Petebass

Dec 22, 2002
    QLD Australia
    Yeah what's with the smart asses? The guy needs help fellas.

Running 350w to a 700w speakers isn't a big problem, but it can be. If you drive the amp too hard, you'll eventually force it to clip. Speakers can't handle a clipped signal and they'll blow.

You should be ok so long as you're careful not to drive the amp too hard.

I don't know that it will fill a room though. From my experience, I don't think 2x10 speaker cabinets were ever designed to be used on their own. I know a lot of people do - but my Eden 2x10 is supposed to be one of the best on the market and I'll never again never use it without another speaker cabinet to help it along. I thought the poor little thing was gonna **** itself.