Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Your Suggestions for Acoustic Bass Purchase

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by mateo, Jan 5, 2004.

1. mateo

mateo

Jan 5, 2004
    I'm an acoustic guitarist who wants to learn to play bass. I've limited income $500-$1000 to put towards an acoustic bass guitar. Please help me decide. I plan on playing in coffeehouse type settings.

What are some good brands and models? I;m looking for sound, quality, and durability. When it comes to bang for your buck, I'd rather not pay for the name but put it towards a higher end lesser named instrument.:bassist:

2. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    Tacoma Thunderchief, no contest.

3. sethlow3

sethlow3 Supporting Member

Jun 19, 2003
    Nashville, Tennessee
    Ditto they are amazing unplugged and plugged in. However, neck dive is a pain on most ABGs. You may even consider a guitarron. Tacomas are the best sounding of all others that I have played. I own a fretless one and have thought of selling it to save for a new car.

4. Scott D

Scott D

Apr 21, 2003
    Minneapolis, MN
    You wouldn't happen to be Mateo of Mateomusic?

5. Another vote for the Tacoma Thunderchief - I had the opportunity to play one last month and I loved it. Sounded great, and loud- unplugged too (which in itself was pretty unusual for an acoustic bass). Got my own last week and I am very happy with my purchase.

[​IMG]

6. ...or try one of these puppies by Godin -

[​IMG]

I own an A4 like the one on the left.

7. The 0x

The 0x

Aug 24, 2003
    Timonium, MD
    How about an upright bass? Most acoustic basses i've tried have been really fun to play, but sounded like ass. I haven't tried any of the aforementioned in this thread, however.

8. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC