Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Your thoughts on my Rig issues

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by SteveC, Nov 12, 2004.

1. SteveC

SteveC Supporting Member

Nov 12, 2004
    North Dakota
    Hi everyone. I'm new to TalkBass. I usually hang out at another forum, but thought I'd give this one a try for a while, too.

Anyway, I thought I'd ask for some input here on my ever changing rig. I play a fretless 6, fretted 5, and upright with a K&K Bass Max pickup. I have a QSC PLX 1202 power amp and a Bergantino HT112 cab. I like things light and small.

I am currently using a PodXT. I like it for the electrics ok, although I tend to use only a couple settings and not many effects - if any. I bought it because I thought an Avalon U5, Presonus BlueMax Compressor, Boss Tuner and SansAmp BDDI were too much hassle to carry around. I wanted a small, simple rig.

Well, The upright just doesn't sound like it did with the Avalon. The electrics are OK, but...did I screw up going to this rig? I don't gig alot and it's mostly small clubs playing in jazz quartets or a local big band or musicals.

2. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    geez, if i were you i woulda stuck with the u5 and your power amp.

3. lsimy

lsimy Supporting Member

Apr 18, 2003
    Virginia, USA
    I agree with IvanMike or how about the SansAmp BDDI straight into the power amp ?? Put the power amp in a light 2 space rack.

4. msquared

msquared

Sep 19, 2004
    Kansas City
    The Avalon and the POD are two different beasts designed for two different things. If you're amplifying an upright you really ought to be using a 'real' DI/preamp (like the Avalon).