Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Your thoughts upon the Bob Gollier Bulgarian Bass!

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by MGill, Jan 1, 2006.

1. MGill

MGill

Dec 31, 2005
    London
    Well the title says it all.............., Has anyone played the bass? Would you recoment it? Just your thought realy, I would love to buy this bass if it turns out to be any good. I was all set to go and spend $6000 but if this one is a quality bass then i would love to spend the rest on a new Piano as im a composer. So the Bob Golliher Bulgarian Bass?

2. Peter Ferretti

Peter Ferretti Supporting Member

Jun 7, 2005
    NYC
    Do a search, I'm pretty sure this topic has been discussed before...As I remember they are pretty high quality.

3. drurb

drurb Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC

Apr 17, 2004
    I have no first-hand knowledge of this bass-- BUT, don't expect to get for the price of Bob's bass what you could get if you got the greatest bang for your $6000. Now, if you are looking to buy a piano AND a decent bass, that's another story altogether. Have you thought about any of the other fine, but modestly priced, instruments discussed here (e.g., Arnold's New Standards, the Uptons, etc.)?

4. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I've heard people say they thought Bob's Bulgarian was a real bargain for the money. I've never played one, so I can't tell you my opinion of it. However, I can tell you that out of the carved basses in the $3000-4000 price range that I have played, I've been extremely disappointed and thought my Upton Hawkes plywood was much better. Now get into the $6000 range and the quality of carved greatly improves.