1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Youtube videos of bass beginners/intermediates?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by riding, May 21, 2011.

1. riding

riding

May 21, 2011
    I've been learning bass for about 6 months, no lessons. Been lurking here ever since and have found great advice, tips, and comments to help in my practice.

The question I have is does anyone have videos of themselves or other people playing at the beginner/intermediate level?

Youtube is filled with people who are advanced (and those who think they are ;) ), and it's a little tough trying to find those of us who know we're beginners but log their progress.

As I've doing this with no formal lessons, I want to gauge myself against others to see/find out if things I'm doing (or not doing), other beginners do too.

For example, I know that when I fret notes, all my fingers are in the air except for the one finger that's doing the actual fretting. And if I fret two notes in succession, say with my index and then my ring finger, I'm still guilty of the above; as compared to other videos of advanced people where it seems like their fingers aren't even moving yet they're fretting tons of notes.

Thanks!

2. helterschecter

helterschecter

May 2, 2011
    I haven't been playing much longer than you. You can look me up on you tube under the name helterschecter. They aren't that great but it how I keep track of my progress..

3. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland