YYZ: How difficult is it to play?

Discussion in 'Recordings [BG]' started by TestForEcho, Jul 21, 2004.

1. TestForEcho

Jun 17, 2004

I've been playing bass for about three years now and have always loved listening to Geddy Lee's wonderful bass playing.

My band plays primarily original material, so I know only a few cover songs. However, about three months ago I decided to learn YYZ on my own time.

I'm still having a lot of problems with some parts of the song, especially with my right hand. Sure, I can hobble my way through the entire song...but if you listen closely I'm missing notes left and right, slowing down some parts, rushing others, completely screwing up the quick solo passages... I'm just having a really tough time playing it evenly, and consistently.

For more experienced bass players out there...How hard is this song for you to play correctly? Did you have a tough time learning it? Do any parts still give you trouble?

2. davepack

davepack Supporting Member

Jun 16, 2004
    Denver, CO
    I learned YYZ at about the same time-frame as you...about 2-3 years after I started playing. Sounds like all you need to do is practice the parts you're having trouble with. Practice them slower, SLOWLY increasing the tempo until it's up to speed. Don't increase the tempo until you can nail it on the slower speed, and when you do speed it up, only speed it up a little at a time. It'll take a while to work all the way up to the proper tempo, but when you get there you'll be able to nail the whole song with little effort. Get a metronome and have fun!!
  3. I've been trying to play that damn song for 15 years and I still can't get it. :help:
  4. TestForEcho

Jun 17, 2004
    Hi Dave. Thanks for the response.

Although I've been playing a few years...I'm not a very technical bass player. Sure, I love to listen to Manring, Berlin, Wooten and all the other great virtuosos out there but when it comes to playing I just play simple rock and roll.