1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Zero Fret Question

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Ron Now, Nov 30, 2006.

1. Ron Now

Ron Now

Sep 3, 2003
    Chicago, IL
    Endorsing Artist: Fuzzrocious Pedals
    My uncle and I have been making instruments for about 5 years now, We usually buy the neck since we do not have fretting supplies but make the bodies and join them to the necks ourselves. I am wondering it it would be possible to install a Zero Fret on a bass that does not have one currently.

I was thinking we could remove the existing nut fill in the slot where the nut is now and after it is filled again we could slot a fret where the nut used to be and move the nut up a couple cm (if that makes sense)

It this possible? or is this just another theory of mine that wouldn't pan out anywhere outside of my mind

Thanks in advance.

2. Musiclogic

Musiclogic Commercial User

Aug 6, 2005
    Southwest Michigan
    Owner/Builder: HJC Customs USA, The Cool Lute, C G O
    If you make the correct measurements, I do not see why you can't fill the slot, cut for a zero fret, and re-install the nut behind the zero fret. If you have the excess area behind the original nut placement, it should be fine.

3. you would have trouble seating a fret in whatever filler you use

4. Ron Now

Ron Now

Sep 3, 2003
    Chicago, IL
    Endorsing Artist: Fuzzrocious Pedals

Even if I were to cut a small piece of ebony to put back into the fretboard?

5. scottyd

scottyd Commercial User

Nov 17, 2006
    Waco Tx
    Builder/owner Redeemer Basses