Zoom 708 II - have you used this?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by bassmama, Jan 21, 2003.

1. Greetings all, I've scanned through this forum and read some opinions on this model, but my question is a little different so I'm posting a new question.

I just wanted some opinions from folks who have used this pedal/device. In particular I'm curious if you use the drum machine features.

BTW, I'm a fairly new player, 4 years now, although I am in gigging bands and having a great time. My bass is a Samick P-bass and it really needs some boost with its tone.

I'm completely new to the world of effects pedals, but with the drum machine features, this one interested me.

I realize that I can probably get better effects separately, and probably a more versatile drum machine separately, but this seemed like a good place to start.

Thanks in advance for your help! :D
  2. IF you need to boost it's tone, try replacing the pickups first.. a pedal cannot make your $ 100 bass sound like a $ 1000 one, trust me ;)
  3. Thanks much for your thoughtful response!

The reviews at Harmony Central seem to confirm this opinion as well. Always good to get a fresh point of view!

4. I personally hate things like Zooms etc. An individual effect is far better and will alway remain that

Keep upwith the bass

5. Herkimer

Dec 10, 2002
    Detroit, MI
    You just can't go wrong for the price. I've played a Zoom BFX-708 for a couple years. I love it. Just remember it's a "jack-of-all-trades and a master of none".

Although... I think it does really good with quite a few of it effects. Surely, its distortions are on par with any individual pedals I've ever owned. It has good delay, too.

I wouldn't record with it... but for live, it's great and it opens up your playing to new things.

It does have an EQ so you can try to tweak your bass to sound better. Add a little compression and VIOLA!! Your stuff should sound better!