Zoom B1on Create Country Sound

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by The Legend, Nov 26, 2021.

1. The Legend

The Legend

Nov 26, 2021
    Newbie here.

Interested in what settings people have used to create a sort of twangy country sound--think Wichita Lineman bass. I would like a little twangier if possible. Thanks bassists.

2. The Legend

The Legend

Nov 26, 2021
    Zoom B1on Create Country Sound Settings

3. Welcome to TB @The Legend to recreate that sound you must first understand how it was created in the beginning. It was very common to have two players playing the same line one on upright bass and another on baritone bass or tic-tac bass with a pick through a guitar amp with reverb. You hear it a lot on records from California to Nashville to Italy on Spaghetti Western.
    Carol Kaye got closest by using a pick on her P-Bass using a Versatone or Polytone amplifier. Using a pick is essential. Try the Fender Bassman model with extra treble and some spring or plate reverb would be my suggestion.

4. seedokebass

seedokebass

Mar 21, 2009
    Minnesota
    Welcome @The Legend !

I had a hard time picking up the bass when I pulled up the song on youtube, but I'm on my phone so not the best bass response.

I agree with @bassbrad of using amp models from or near the era.

The Legend likes this.
  5. The Legend

The Legend

Nov 26, 2021
    Thanks for the replay. This will give me some motivation to learn more at my advanced age. Again, many thanks.

seedokebass likes this.
  6. The Legend

The Legend

Nov 26, 2021
    And I will try the pick versus finger.

7. We gotta keep learning to keep from dying. And who you calling old?

8. NoiseNinja

NoiseNinja Experimental-psychedelic-ambient-noise-drone Inactive

Feb 23, 2011
    Denmark