1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Zoom B2 in the studio?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by harlon, Aug 13, 2007.

1. harlon

harlon

Jul 13, 2007
    Has anyone used a Zoom B2 in the studio? If so - how has that worked for you? Also - what's the difference in the B2 and the B1? Can't find anything on their website comparing the two.

Thanks!

2. BassMan250

BassMan250

Jan 26, 2007
    Denver, CO
    I've only recorded one 6-song album so I'm not very experienced, but for those sessions I used my MIA Jazz through a B2 into a Nemesis 210 combo, which ran into the board through the DI. I generally use my B2 for tone, not effects, so I stick to the amp modeling, limiting, EQ and noise reduction and only occasionally use phaser or delay. That being said, the B2 works fine if your amp is a little lacking tone-wise. I don't know if it's possible to use a B2 as a DI or not but I doubt it. The B1, as far as I know, is a scaled-down version of the B2 with less features. The B2 IMHO is about the best multi-effects on the market in that price range. The B2.1 is just the B2 with an expression pedal. Hope this helps

3. B2.1U has a DI and a USB interface as well as the expression pedal...

4. Swift713

Swift713

Dec 4, 2006
    Florence, Ma
    The B1 I believe is plastic, :eek: as opposed to the B2 which is a very solid metal box. I'm pretty sure the B1 has fewer parameters/controls etc.
    As far as using the B2 for recording...
    It should work as a direct box, after all it'll drive headphones and most 4tracks or mixing boards have trim knobs.