1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Zvex Vextron Mastrotron Mini Review

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by LuvMusic, Apr 13, 2009.

1. LuvMusic

LuvMusic

Aug 18, 2007
    Oak Park, IL
    Well, over the weekend the postman dropped off a box....let's see what it is:

A pretty plain looking box.

DSCF0737.

What's inside you ask? A Zvex Vextron series Mastotron!

DSCF0741.

DSCF0740.

Looks great....not as fancy as a Zvex line pedal but not ugly. Looks aside, I suspect some sounclips are in order.

This is my first time at recording and posting soundclips, so, please be gentle on the quality of the playing and recording! ;) For recording I used a Line 6 Toneport GX and a B15 amp model. I used Audacity for my recording software. The bass is a MIM P bass with a Lindy Fralin nornal wound pup and DR flats.

The first recording is flat...bass rolled off a little on the bass, volume wide open, straight into the Toneport.

http://h1.ripway.com/LuvMusic/No Effects Groove.mp3

The next sample uses the following settings on the Mastotron:

Vol - 9:00
    Tone - 12:00
    PW: - 9:00
    Fuzz - 12:00
    Push - 3:00
    Sub Switch: #3 position

http://h1.ripway.com/LuvMusic/Masto 1.mp3

This sample uses the same settings used above but the sub switch is changed to setting #1.

http://h1.ripway.com/LuvMusic/Masto 2.mp3

Next sample. Uses same settings as above except PW is adjusted tp 3:00 (versus 9:00)

http://h1.ripway.com/LuvMusic/Masto 3.mp3

Last sample. Same settings as above except this the fuzz setting is set at 3:00 (versus 9:00)

http://h1.ripway.com/LuvMusic/Masto 4.mp3

My informal, not professional assessment
    of the pedal is.....I like it!! Seems to be flexible and bass friendly.