Fripp Tuning

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by findtheonlyway, Sep 7, 2012.

1. findtheonlyway

findtheonlyway Guest

May 19, 2011
    I play in a prog band that tunes to Fripp (CGDA). I have been using this tuning on a '73 p-bass which is my only high quality bass, with my Ibanez SRX riding the bench. Unfortunately, as expected, this tuning has been a pain to deal with. Floppy strings, fret buzz, tone problems, etc. But the biggest, and most obnoxious problem I've had to face is intonation, specifically on the C string. No matter what I try, I absolutely cannot get this p-bass, which has perfect action and intonation in standard tuning, to intonate properly to Fripp. I'm a college student so a new, extended scale bass is not an option. I've considered different, perhaps thicker, strings but that's my only thought so far and I'm afraid to try because I'm not entirely sure it would help. Is there anyone else who plays with this tuning or something similar and if so is there a trick to perfecting my C-string intonation? (as a side note: I know how to set up basses, truss rod, saddles, the whole deal and I am familiar with the common cure for bad intonation of pressing down on the strings at the saddle.)

2. WaskoDS

WaskoDS

Nov 22, 2009
    Allentown, PA
    Yeah, you really need different strings, if you're actually attempting this with a standard gauge set.

3. FretlessMainly

FretlessMainly

Nov 17, 2010
    Use the thickest taper-core low B you can find. I use a Sadowsky black label flat at 0.130T for this tuning (and while it's cool you call it Fripp tuning, violincellos have been tuned like this for over 300 years, so let's not give Fripp credit for everything!).

TI jazz flats have a 0.136, but it's not a taper-core if I recall correctly. The taper core will seat the string lower in the saddle and hopefully will solve your problem (you're still a bit sharp, correct?).

4. preside

preside

Aug 7, 2010
    Scottsdale Az