Kolstein Heritage

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by bejoyous, Mar 8, 2007.

1. bejoyous

bejoyous

Oct 23, 2005
    London, Ontario
    I've been thinking of trying Kolstein Heritage strings next.

I've been playing on Obligatos for a few years and they sound great but they do roll. On sixteenth note passages, the rolling sometimes muffled the articulation.

I've been using Dominants for the past year. They are nice sounding and very loud. They keep their tuning great and they feel nice under the hand. But, they sounded very metallic and brittle until they were settled in. I found I had to be very careful when playing every note otherwise there would be lots of cracks and squeaks.

So, I was wondering what other's experiences were with the Heritage strings?

2. jazzbassnerd

jazzbassnerd

Aug 26, 2002
    Sounds like you're playing a lot of arco. I used the heritage strings for about a year and, while I definitely liked them at first, this did fade.

This is not to say in any way that they are bad strings, they're better than many other synthetic core strings I had tried, they just came at the end of my use of synthetic strings.

Though I never used them, I've heard many, many people on dominants and might suggest sticking to them.

3. i played heritages on a friends bass. he previously had obligatos. The heritage didn't roll but they didn't have nearly as rich a tone on his instrument. Also, the obligato g pizz was much beefier.

Chris

4. martinc

martinc In Memoriam

I tried the Heritages on my King plywood and found they did not have the tone I was used to with the Obligato's. They had a kind of "plastic" sound . I had them on for a couple of months to make sure they were well played in but they did not improve.
    For me the Obligato's or Dominants are a better way to go in the synthetic core string if you bow. The Dominants last longer than the Obligato in my experience.